Industry Forum

Who are the IATF?

The IATF is a group of automotive manufacturers and their respective trade associations, formed to provide improved quality products to automotive customers worldwide.

IATF members include the following vehicle manufacturers:

  • BMW Group
  • FCA US LLC (formerly Chrysler Group)
  • Daimler AG
  • FCA Italy Spa (formerly Fiat Group Automobile)
  • Ford Motor Company
  • General Motors Company
  • PSA Peugeot Citroen
  • Renault SA
  • Volkswagen AG

and the vehicle manufacturers’ respective trade associations:

  • AIAG (U.S.)
  • ANFIA (Italy)
  • FIEV (France)
  • SMMT (U.K.)
  • VDA (Germany)

The IATF was established to:

  1. Develop a consensus regarding international fundamental quality system requirements, primarily for the participating companies’ direct suppliers of production materials, product or service parts or finishing services (e.g. heat treating, painting and plating). These requirements will also be available for other interested parties in the automotive industry
  2. Develop policies and procedures for the common IATF third party registration scheme to ensure consistency worldwide
  3. Provide appropriate training to support IATF 16949 requirements and the IATF registration scheme
  4. Establish formal liaisons with appropriate bodies to support IATF objectives


IATF Structure

IATF 16949


Get the latest updates regarding IATF 16949

Get all the latest news including customer specific requirements, sign-up for up for the latest email updates and………… by visiting the IATG Global Oversight website: